Home Computer Security -- Human Behavior - Part I
http://edu-observatory.org/olli/HCS/Week1.html




You get a message that something is not right. That's exactly
what the bad guys try to do--convince you that you need to do
something. Don't!

  1. Do Not call that phone number
  2. Do Not click on that link
  3. Do Not download anything
  4. Do Not let anybody on your computer
  5. Do Not divulge any passwords
  6. Do Not give your credit card number
  7. Do Not Respond

Things you should do:
  1. Ignore messages, emails, popups, and phone calls
  2. Delete messages, emails, popups, and phone calls
  3. Quit or Force Quit your browser
  4. Restart your Computer
  5. Install and run Malwarebytes
     https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/ 
  6. Do the updates (computers, mobile devices, and apps)   
  




PHISHING https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing Phishing is the fraudulent attempt to obtain sensitive information such as usernames, passwords and credit card details by disguising oneself as a trustworthy entity in an electronic communication. Typically carried out by email spoofing or instant messaging, it often directs users to enter personal information at a fake website which matches the look and feel of the legitimate site. Phishing is an example of social engineering techniques being used to deceive users. Users are often lured by communications purporting to be from trusted parties such as social web sites, auction sites, banks, online payment processors or IT administrators. Here's What Can Happen (11+ min) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjYhmX_OUQQ Why Phishing Remains So Popular? | ISC ... because it works! https://isc.sans.edu/diary/Why+Phishing+Remains+So+Popular%3F/25742 How to: Avoid Phishing Attacks | Surveillance Self-Defense https://ssd.eff.org/en/module/how-avoid-phishing-attacks Krebs's 3 Basic Rules for Online Safety http://krebsonsecurity.com/2011/05/krebss-3-basic-rules-for-online-safety/ Protecting Yourself on Social Networks https://ssd.eff.org/en/module/protecting-yourself-social-networks Protecting Your Device From Hackers https://ssd.eff.org/en/module/animated-overview-protecting-your-device-hackers Tips, Tools And How-Tos For Safer Online Communications https://ssd.eff.org/en Privacy When Using the Internet http://edu-observatory.org/olli/Privacy/index.html

PASSWORDS https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Password Creating Strong Passwords https://ssd.eff.org/en/module/creating-strong-passwords How to: Enable Two-factor Authentication https://ssd.eff.org/en/module/how-enable-two-factor-authentication Using Password Managers to Stay Safe Online https://ssd.eff.org/en/module/animated-overview-using-password-managers-stay-safe-online Check if your Password has been compromised in a data breach https://haveibeenpwned.com https://haveibeenpwned.com/Passwords https://www.securemac.com/news/the-securemac-interview-troy-hunt-on-data-breaches

Tips, Tools And How-Tos For Safer Online Communications https://ssd.eff.org/en Privacy When Using the Internet http://edu-observatory.org/olli/Privacy/index.html sam.wormley@gmail.com